University of Virginia, Department of Computer Science
CS588: Cryptology - Principles and Applications, Fall 2001

Lectures | Manifests | Problem Sets | Projects | Resources | Syllabus | Challenges | Calendar

Lectures

Wednesday, 29 August: Lecture 1: Introduction [PPT] [PDF]
Monday, 3 September: Lecture 2: Perfect Ciphers, Entropy, Unicity [PPT] [PDF]
Wednesday, 5 September: Lecture 3: Vigenere, Enigma [PPT] [PDF]
Monday, 10 September: Lecture 4: Block Ciphers [PPT] [PDF]
Wednesday, 12 September: Lecture 5: DES Modes of Operation, Attacks [PPT] [PDF]
Monday, 17 September: Lecture 6: Modern Block Ciphers (AES) [PPT] [PDF]
Wednesday, 19 September: Lecture 7: Key Distribution [PPT] [PDF]
Monday, 24 September: Lecture 8: RSA [PPT] [PDF]
Wednesay, 26 September: Lecture 9: Security of RSA [PPT]
Monday, 1 October: Lecture 10: Certificates and Hashing [PPT]
Wednesday, 3 October: Lecture 11: Birthday Paradox [PPT]
Monday, 8 October: Lecture 12: Public Key Protocols, Authentication [PPT]
Wednesday, 10 October: Lecture 13: Better Authentication Protocols, Digital Cash [PPT]
Monday, 22 October: Lecture 14: Digital Cash, Randomness [PPT]
Wednesday, 31 October: Lecture 15: Oblivious Transfer, Trick-or-Treat Protocols [PPT]
Wednesday, 7 November: Lecture 16: Blocking and Catching Photons [PPT]
Monday, 12 November: Lecture 17: Malcode [PPT]
Monday, 19 November: Lecture 18: Malcode Countermeasures [PPT]
Monday, 26 November: Lecture 19: Firewalls and Intrusion Detection [PPT]
Wednesday, 5 December: Lecture 20: Jeopardy


CS 655 University of Virginia
Department of Computer Science
CS 588: Cryptology - Principles and Applications
David Evans
evans@cs.virginia.edu